What’s the deal with clubbing?

Image

What’s the deal with clubbing?  Crowded, dark places with loud music, dingy atmospheres, overpriced drinks, and rude bouncers…why would anyone want to go through that?  Why would anyone want to go anywhere where they aren’t wanted?  Yet so many people clearly do.  There are lines of people desperate to get into these hell holes and find themselves barely able to move as they are packed like sardines in a can.  Maybe part of the problem is that I don’t dance.  But I don’t’ understand how anyone can dance in that environment.  There’s no room!  I just don’t get it.

In my early twenties, as an undergrad in Florida, I never did the “club scene”.  Then I moved to London to earn my Master’s.  I had no interest in the club scene there either, but I did want to make friends.  The new friends I was making loved to go clubbing, so I tagged along.  I don’t think I ever went to a club with them and thought, “Gee, I’d sure like to go there again”.  Don’t get me wrong, they were good company, and I have happy memories of them.  But unless they were going, I saw no reason why I should subject myself to that.  I actually had a lot more fun with our little “after-parties” back in the student hall, where we’d all just hang around sharing drinks and joking around.  I also enjoyed our breakfasts at lunchtime the next day.

Since coming back from London, I have not gone clubbing, and don’t miss it at all.  I don’t regret it, because at least I experienced it and learned something about myself – I hate crowds.  When I first met my wife, one of our first dates included the Jacksonville Landing.  We sat on the balcony, looking down at most of the people.  We had our own little spot there, virtually undisturbed.  We talked about the people below, predicted their conversations, and just relaxed.  To me, that is a good time.  It’s a much better time than being cramp with people I barely know.  More importantly, she and I were able to start getting to know each other.  How is that possible in a crowded club so loud that you have to scream your drink order into the bartender’s ear just so that she can barely hear you?

The only thing I can figure, and I know this should be obvious, is that people go clubbing looking for a hookup.  Why not?  You can see their bodies, see them dancing, there’s alcohol, and no opportunity for anything more than a raw physical attraction.  Personally I don’t get in the mood by being in a loud crowded place, and likely sweating from all the body heat, but that’s just me.  If you like clubbing and want to make your case, by all means leave a comment.  I’m just speaking for myself.

Leave a Reply

